In Sanskrit Yoga is defined as Union.

The eight limbs of yoga according to Patanjali:

  1. yama – five abstentions such as non-violence in word and deed
  2. niyama – five observances such as cleanliness and study of the scriptures
  3. asana – postures or poses to control the limbs and nervous systems
  4. pranayama – control of breath
  5. pratyahara – withdrawal of senses from external objects
  6. dharana – concentration upon a physical object
  7. dhyana – steadfast meditation
  8. samadhi – oneness with the object of meditation

Posts I have written about yoga:

yoga poses while traveling

shanti or zen in shanghai

full moon meditation

yoga & more in rishikesh